Campus Advisory Classes are in session remotely through the end of spring semester. Our satellite centers in Manhattan, Hudson Valley and Suffolk County are closed; however, all staff and units are accessible remotely. Adelphi's Garden City campus is operational with only essential personnel on-site. » COVID-19 Response

Coronavirus Updates on Operations: Department or campus operations may be modified during this time. Please call or email the department for more information or visit

Past Presidents of Adelphi University

Adelphi draws on over a century of strong leadership.

View a detailed timeline of Adelphi’s history to learn more about out past presidents.

2000-2015 | Robert A. Scott

1998-1999 | Matthew Goldstein

1985-1997 | Peter Diamandopoulos

1972-1985 | Timothy Costello

1969-1971 | Charles Vevier

1965-1967 | Arthur Brown

1937-1965 | Paul Dawson Eddy

1915-1937 | Frank D. Blodgett

1893-1912 | Charles H. Levermore

Acting/Interim Presidents

1999–2000 | Steven L. Isenberg (interim)

1997–1998 | James A. Norton (interim)

1997 | Igor Webb (acting)

1971-1972 | Randall P. McIntyre (acting)

1967-1969 | Robert G. Olmsted (acting)

1912-1915 | S. Parks Cadman (acting)

Follow President Riordan at:        

Follow Georgia the Bulldog at: